Friday, September 14, 2007

Original Silence - The First Original Silence

1. If Light Has No Age, Time Has No Shadow (14:22)
2. In the Name of the Law (46:08)

O = Original Silence. What's this? An improv record by Thurston Moore, Jim O'Rourke (electronics), Mats Gustafsson (sax) and Paal Nilssen-Love (drums) of the Thing, Terrie Ex (guitar) of the Ex, and Massimo Pupillo (bass) of Zu? Sign me up for that. As a person who normally doesn't get down with the saxophone, I have to say that I really do enjoy Gustafsson's playing, which encroaches on a rude, gutteral place. Thurston provides his trademark hurricane of guitar noyse, which is to be expected. "If Light Has No Age..." emits a no-wave feel colliding with an AmRep sensibility. The second sprawling track is a little more "relaxed", with each musician providing their part without stepping on the toes of the others, which is no small feat for an improv group. They know their place in these pieces and work to a cohesive whole rather than giving individual performances. Suprisingly great record.



Leave a damn comment, please.

No comments: