Saturday, September 1, 2007

Countess - The Wolves Awake

1. Endless Mist (intro)
2. Crypt of the Wolves
3. Into Battle
4. The Silent Rose of Sin
5. Aleidis
6. Yr (outro)

I can't think of a better way to do "C" than the 1994 self-released cassette demo by Countess, The Wolves Awake. Rocking old-school black metal that has more than a subtle hint of Bathory. Dirty, sticky repetitive riffs and almost punk rock-ish drumming anchor the vomit screams amidst the backdrop of lo-fi "atmosphere". Even though this was probably recorded on a four-track, the mix isn't too bad... it doesn't sound like it was recorded at the bottom of a diaper pail like some demos from this era (and even today).


Leave a damn comment, please.

No comments: